The MCRC Biobank collects samples from four collaborating NHS Trusts across the region. These are:

  • The Christie NHS Foundation Trust (CFT)
  • Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust (SRFT)
  • Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (PAT)
  • Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (MFT)
    • Manchester Royal Infirmary
    • Wythenshawe Hospital

Different hospital Trusts across Manchester specialise in treating different cancer types. By targeting collections to areas of specialisation, the Biobank will be able to build a comprehensive bank of samples to facilitate future research into all types of cancer. The table below details which sample types the Biobank collects from each collaborating Trust.

Urology X X   X
Lung   X    
Head and Neck   X    
Colorectal X X   X
Breast   X X X
Brain and CNS       X
Skin X      
Upper GI   X   X
Gynae X X X X